you@macbook ~/blazing-transcribe $ cat blog/best-mac-apps.md

15 Best Mac Apps in 2026: One for Every Job, With Prices

Alex Christou—
macappsproductivityguide
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The best Mac apps for most people are a handful of small utilities that fix what macOS leaves awkward: Raycast for launching anything, Rectangle for snapping windows, Maccy for clipboard history, 1Password for passwords and AppCleaner for removing apps properly. Below are 15 picks, one per job, each with its price as of October 2026, who it suits and the catch worth knowing before you install it.

The table has the short version; the sections after it explain each pick.

The 15 best Mac apps at a glance

#AppJobPrice (as of October 2026)Needs
1RaycastLauncherFree plan; Pro $10/mo or $96/yrRaycast 2.0: macOS Tahoe (26), Apple silicon
2RectangleWindow snappingFree, open sourcemacOS 10.15+
3AltTabWindow switchingFree (paid Pro tier)macOS 12+
4MaccyClipboard historyFree from its site ($9.99 on the Mac App Store)macOS 14+
5EspansoText expansionFree, open sourcemacOS 10.13+
6Blazing Transcribe (ours)DictationFree right nowmacOS 15+, Apple Silicon
7ThawMenu bar tidyingFree, open sourcemacOS 14+ (version depends on macOS)
8StatsSystem monitorFree, open sourcemacOS 12+
9AmphetamineKeep awakeFree, no in-app purchasesmacOS 10.13+
10CleanShot XScreenshots$35 one-time (1 year of updates), optional $19/yr renewalmacOS 13+
11HazelFile automation$42 (Family Pack $65)Not stated
12AppCleanerUninstallingFree (donations)macOS 15+ (older build for 10.14 to 15.6)
13The UnarchiverArchivesFreemacOS 10.13+
14ObsidianNotesFree; Sync $4/mo billed yearlyNot stated
151PasswordPasswords$3.99/mo billed yearlymacOS 12+

Most sections below name a free or paid alternative, and prices change, so check the linked vendor page before buying.

How we picked these

We didn't test these apps ourselves. The list is chosen from what Mac power users recommend (YouTube creators who cover Mac setups, Reddit recommendation round-ups and long-running editorial lists of the best Mac apps), then checked against each app's own site.

Every price, billing basis and macOS requirement below was checked on the vendor's page on 19 October 2026. Where only the Mac App Store listing had the figure, the entry says so. Apps that have stalled or changed get flagged.

Left out on purpose: photo and video editors, games, media apps, and any app whose main price we couldn't confirm.

Launching apps and managing windows

Three apps for getting around the Mac: opening things, placing windows, switching between them.

1. Raycast

Raycast replaces Spotlight. Press its shortcut to open apps, find files, run commands and use extensions. The tagline is "Your shortcut to everything", which is about right.

As of October 2026, the free plan covers most of that. Pro is $10 a month or $96 a year, and Plus ($20 a month) and Max ($50 a month) are there for heavier AI use. The free plan has no AI, which won't bother you if you came for a launcher.

Worth knowing before you install anything else on this list: the free plan already includes clipboard history (kept for 3 months), snippets, quicklinks and window management. That overlaps picks 2, 4 and 5, so you may not need them straight away. Apple YouTuber Stephen Robles points to "so many great features on the free plan".

The catch is hardware. Raycast 2.0 needs macOS Tahoe and Apple silicon. On an older or Intel Mac, Alfred is the better fit: the core app is free, the Powerpack is a one-time purchase (£34, as Alfred prices in pounds), and it runs on macOS 10.14 or later on Intel and Apple silicon. Alfred 6 has been announced, and buying the Powerpack now includes the upgrade.

Get it if you open more than a handful of apps a day.

2. Rectangle

Laptop users, and anyone who plugs into an external monitor and drags windows into place by hand, should start here. Rectangle moves and resizes windows with keyboard shortcuts, or when you drag a window to a screen edge (it calls these snap areas). It's free and open source, and runs on macOS 10.15 or later on Intel and Apple silicon.

There are two paid routes. Rectangle Pro is $9.99 with a 10-day trial; one licence covers 3 Macs and it needs macOS 13.5 or later. Magnet is $4.99 one-time on the Mac App Store and needs macOS 13. Magnet is a common Reddit recommendation, but free Rectangle already does shortcuts and snap areas, so pay only if you want to buy through the App Store.

3. AltTab

Cmd-Tab switches between apps. AltTab switches between windows, Windows-style, and the site's pitch is "See every window, even within the same app."

It suits anyone juggling several windows of the same app. Core features are free and open source (GPL-3.0); a paid Pro tier has a 14-day trial, but the site doesn't list its price. AltTab needs macOS 12 or later and runs natively on Apple silicon and Intel.

Clipboard, snippets and dictation

The type-less group: fewer keystrokes, or none at all.

4. Maccy

Maccy keeps a searchable history of everything you copy, opened with a shortcut. YouTube creator Andrew Ethan Zeng is blunt about it: "if you don't have a clipboard app, you need to get onto this ASAP".

The pricing has a wrinkle. Maccy is free and open source (MIT) from maccy.app, where the developer says it "is and will always be free". The same app is $9.99 on the Mac App Store. Either way it needs macOS 14 (Sonoma) or later, and maccy.app is the only official site.

For a paid option, Paste is $29.99 a year with a 7-day trial and no card required. Its "Paste for AI" feature connects your clipboard history to Claude, Codex and Cursor.

5. Espanso

Espanso is a text expander: type a short keyword and it swaps in the full text while you're typing, so a few characters become an address, a sign-off or a block of code. It's free, open source (GPL-3), universal, and runs on macOS 10.13 or later. brew install espanso sets it up.

The catch: snippets live in a config file rather than a settings window. Developers won't mind. Others can try TextExpander: a free plan with 5 active snippets, Pro at $60 per user per year billed annually, and versions for Windows, Chrome, iPhone and iPad. Or use Raycast's free snippets.

6. Blazing Transcribe (this one is ours)

This one is ours, so weigh that accordingly. For Slack replies, email and AI prompts, talking is often quicker than typing.

Hold fn, speak, let go, and your words are typed into whatever app your cursor is in. Speech recognition runs on your Mac, so your voice never leaves it and it works offline. It's 12 MB, lives in the menu bar and has a personal dictionary for jargon. It's free right now: no account, no trial timer, no card.

The limits: Mac only, Apple Silicon (M1 or newer), macOS 15 or later. It doesn't record meetings or transcribe audio files; for recordings, see our MacWhisper review. macOS's built-in Dictation is free, and Raycast 2.0 now includes dictation. Our best dictation app for Mac roundup compares the rest.

Menu bar utilities

Three small menu bar apps. Two of them come with a maintenance note.

7. Thaw

Thaw hides the icons you don't need. It's free under GPL-3.0, and the README is pleasingly direct: "No purchase, no subscription, and no upgrade fee when macOS ships a new version."

Versions follow macOS. Thaw 2 is for macOS 26 (brew install thaw), Thaw 1 covers macOS 14 and 15, and Thaw 3 is in beta for macOS 27.

Older lists recommend Ice. Ice hasn't had a stable release since 29 October 2024, so Thaw is the safer choice. The paid alternative is Bartender: a one-time Bartender 7 licence with an optional yearly Pro tier and a 4-week trial. It prices by region, so check its site. Bartender 7 is built for macOS 27; Bartender 6 covers macOS 26.

8. Stats

For anyone who wants to know why the fans are spinning. Stats puts system readouts such as CPU and memory use in the menu bar; the project calls it a "macOS system monitor in your menu bar". It's free and open source (MIT), downloaded from GitHub, and needs macOS 12 or later.

One privacy note: the project says it has no telemetry, but it does contact api.mac-stats.com to check for updates and to show your public IP.

9. Amphetamine

The catch first: Amphetamine was last updated to version 5.3.2 on 10 November 2023. It's still listed as compatible, but nearly three years without an update is worth knowing.

It keeps the Mac awake, and optionally the display, with a switch or with rules it calls Triggers. That helps with long downloads and renders, and with presentations, where the screen going dark mid-sentence is mildly embarrassing. It's free on the Mac App Store with no in-app purchases, and needs macOS 10.13 or later.

Screenshots, files and cleanup

Four apps for the unglamorous jobs.

10. CleanShot X

People who share screenshots all day get the most out of CleanShot X. It does screenshots and screen recordings, with cloud storage for sharing.

As of October 2026, Basic is $35 one-time ("Pay once, use forever"). That includes a year of updates and 1 GB of cloud storage, then an optional $19 a year keeps the updates coming. Pro, for teams, is $10 per user per month billed annually. There's no trial ("We don't provide a trial"), but there is a 30-day money-back guarantee, and it's also available through Setapp. It needs macOS 13 or later.

If $35 is too much, Shottr is "a tiny and fast mac screenshot tool with annotations". It's free to use and asks you to upgrade after 30 days. The Basic licence is $12, paid once, and you need a licence for commercial use. It runs on macOS 10.15 or later.

11. Hazel

If your Desktop or Downloads folder has got out of hand, this is the one. Hazel "watches whatever folders you tell it to" and sorts your files by rules you create: Downloads filed by type, invoices renamed, old files cleared out. Hazel 6 adds on-the-fly OCR.

Hazel 6 is $42, the Family Pack (up to 5 people in a household) is $65, and an upgrade is $20. There's a free trial, so you can see whether your rules stick before paying.

12. AppCleaner

Dragging an app to the Trash removes the app but, as Andrew Ethan Zeng puts it, "leaves a residue of files" behind. AppCleaner finds those support files and removes them with the app. The developer says it lets you "thoroughly uninstall unwanted apps".

It's free, with donations welcome. Version 3.7 needs macOS 15 or later, and version 3.6.8 covers macOS 10.14 to 15.6, so older Macs are covered.

13. The Unarchiver

Sooner or later someone sends you a RAR file. The Unarchiver opens the archives macOS doesn't handle well on its own, including RAR, 7z, Zip, Tar and disk images, and calls itself "the only app you need to open RAR on Mac". It's made by MacPaw, "free and always will be", has no in-app purchases and runs on macOS 10.13 or later.

If you also need to make archives, Keka creates 14 formats and extracts 33. It's free from its website; the Mac App Store version is paid and supports the developer.

Notes and passwords

Two apps you'll open every day.

14. Obsidian

Obsidian saves your notes on your Mac as plain-text Markdown files, so they're yours and any app can open them. That matters if you've ever tried to leave a notes app and found your notes reluctant to follow. The pricing page sums it up as "Free without limits."

Sync is optional at $4 per user per month billed yearly ($5 month to month), and an optional commercial licence is $50 per user per year.

Bear is the simpler alternative: a free tier without sync, and Pro at $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year. Its Mac App Store listing says macOS 12.4 or later. For long-form writing, see our roundup of writing apps for Mac.

15. 1Password

1Password stores your passwords and other sensitive details and fills them in for you. There's no free tier.

As of October 2026, it's $3.99 a month billed yearly for one person, and new customers get the first year at $2.99 a month. Families is $5.99 a month billed yearly. There's a 14-day trial with no card, and it needs macOS 12 or later.

If you'd rather not pay, Bitwarden has a free plan ("Always free") and is open source. Premium is $19.80 a year, and its Mac App Store listing says macOS 12 or later.

If you only install five

If you want the best Mac apps without installing 15 things, start with five: Raycast (or Alfred on an older or Intel Mac), Rectangle, Maccy, 1Password (or free Bitwarden) and AppCleaner.

With Raycast, use its free clipboard history, snippets and window snapping first, and add Maccy, Rectangle or Espanso only when you outgrow them. That might be never.

Developers should add Espanso and Stats. Writers: Obsidian, plus dictation for first drafts. If you spend the day on calls and sharing your screen, add CleanShot X (or Shottr) and Amphetamine.

If you type a lot on an Apple Silicon Mac, Blazing Transcribe is free to try.

FAQ

What apps should every Mac have?

Every Mac should have a launcher, a window manager, a clipboard manager, a password manager and a proper uninstaller. Of the best Mac apps above, that means Raycast, Rectangle, Maccy, 1Password or Bitwarden, and AppCleaner. All but 1Password are free.

What are the best free Mac apps?

Rectangle, AltTab, Maccy, Espanso, Thaw, Stats, Amphetamine, AppCleaner, The Unarchiver and Obsidian are all free, as are the free plans of Raycast and Bitwarden. macOS also has dictation built in; our guide to speech to text on Mac covers how to use it.

Is Raycast better than Alfred?

For most people on a recent Apple silicon Mac, yes: Raycast's free plan includes clipboard history, snippets and window management. Alfred is the better fit on older macOS or Intel Macs, or if you'd rather pay once for the Powerpack than subscribe. Alfred 6 is on the way.

Should I download Mac apps from the App Store or the developer's site?

Download Mac apps from either the App Store or the developer's site, as long as it's the official source. Many of the best utilities are sold direct because of App Store sandboxing limits, and prices can differ: Maccy is free from its site but $9.99 on the App Store.

How do I completely uninstall an app on a Mac?

To completely uninstall an app on a Mac, use AppCleaner. Dragging an app to the Trash leaves support files behind, while AppCleaner finds the related files and removes them along with the app.